Downgrade WordPress

Unfortunately, it happens from time to time that various older plugins no longer work with new WordPress versions, so I have created a guide for you how to downgrade WordPress.

  • First log into yours. Site one
  • Deactivated all times Plugins

Downgrade WordPress

  • Log out of your installation
  • Sign up to your web host via FTP, if you operate an IIS then conveniently click into your website directories.
  • Make a backup of your entire website
  • Then you delete the entire directory except for the folder. WP content (location of your pictures & documents).
  • now copy the contents of the folder of the downgraded version to your website directories
  • Wait a minute (coffee or smoke break)
  • It has a lot of data Uff..
  • Finally finished copying…
  • Now navigate to your website
    • Re-create your WP-CONFIG file
    • Database name
    • User name
    • Password
    • etc.
  • Now you click Save if your input was correct
  • Now comes the following message

Database update-required

Clicks on Update WordPress Database

that can take a few seconds depending on the size of the DB

Then comes the following message.

Update-complete

Now you can log back into your WordPress installation.